Up and Down the Nevis Road

Up and up and up! Time to start running up hills!

I found a perfect road to go running up too. The Nevis Road starts a few kilometres out of Bannockburn and winds its way up over Duffers Saddle, New Zealands highest public road at 1300m, then down into a valley following the Nevis River and ending just north of the small township of Garston 70km away. From the Bannockburn end, the first 4 or so kilometres is a perfectly runnable ascent before it starts getting quite grunty, a great start to hill training for a mountain race.

collage_20131203211230694

 

I have run up a few times over the past couple of weeks, walking up another 4km beyond my capability, to be rewarded with the most stunning views of the Cromwell Basin. In the hot weather we had been having, getting up to that altitude, it’s like a whole other kind of air up there!

Photo bomb by some sheep!

Photo bombed by some sheep!

And then I ran up the Nevis Road one drizzly afternoon, a perfect opportunity to try out my new Marmot Precip jacket. A seam taped jacket is an equipment requirement for the Northburn events and this one gets a thumbs up! It was comfortable to wear even under my Camelbak, it kept me dry without making me too hot, nor letting me get too cold when the wind picked up. Though I can’t say that it makes running in the rain more enjoyable than positively icky.

 

Merry Christmas to you all and see you in the New Year!!

Stuck for a Christmas gift? Donate to my Quest for C F !


One response to “Up and Down the Nevis Road

  • Barry Hobbs

    Thanks for the post… The posts ans blogs really get the juices flowing for my (& daughters) first fair dinkum mountain race after having only pounded bitumen

    Baza & Georgie Hobbs (aust)

    Sent by Hobbsy

Leave a comment